Joint Communiqué on the 14th Meeting of the Council of Heads of Governments of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Member States

The Council of the Heads of Governments (Prime Ministers) of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Member States held its 14th meeting in Zhengzhou, Henan on 14-15 December 2015. Attended by representatives of all of the member states - Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan - the meeting concluded with the issue of a joint communiqué consisting of 22 items, including:

1. SCO member states will actively implement the arrangements of the Meeting of Heads of State of SCO Member States held in Ufa on 10 July 2015 in order to promote regional co-operation, mutually create beneficial conditions for investment and business activities, while applying efforts to support the peaceful development, prosperity and stability of all member states and the region in general.

2. Implement the SCO Development Strategy 2025, the Program for Multilateral Cooperation in Trade and Economy of the SCO Member States and the action plan for its implementation, the List of Events for Further Development of Project Activities in the Framework of the SCO for 2012-2016. Further expand co-operation in the spheres of trade, economy, finance, investment, transportation, telecommunications, customs, agriculture and energy, strengthen trade and investment facilitation, promote economic growth based on innovations, and promote the  modernisation of the industrial sector via the joint creation of hi-tech enterprises that would support the stable socio-economic development of the SCO member states.

3. Reiterate support for China’s Silk Road Economic Belt initiative and its aims to promote gradual sustainable economic growth in the interest of keeping and supporting peace and stability in the region.

4. Support the mutually beneficial regional and international co-operation of production capacity in the interests of all SCO member states.

Please click here to read the full document.